Chili Corn and Red Capsicum Soup

Two weeks ago, my family got a flu! All of us was suffering from cough and cold. And I don’t feel like doing anything. I don’t have the energy to cook. But I need to. So inspite of being sick. And I want to cook some soup and something light. So I raid my fridge and see what stuff do I have on hand. I found a bunch of red capsicum, corn, eggplants, okra, green beans, cilantro, etc! I figure I can make some corn soup, but corn soup is not really inviting my appetite. And I finally decided to try to make some Chili Corn and Red Capsicum and let me tell you in my opinion is a success! Very easy it took 30mins to cook or less! This recipe yield 4 servings. And  the cooking time is 30mins.

Chili Corn and Red Capsicum Soup

Ingeredients

  • 2 Red Capsicum (bell pepper) ,dice
  • 4 corn on a cob or 2 cups of frozen corn
  • 2 tablespoon fresh cilantro, finely chopped  or 2 dash of dried cilantro
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 cups vegetables stock
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 small onion finely chopped
  • 1 small red chili, finely chopped or
  • 2 oz of butter
  • 1 cup of shredded mozzarella (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon flour

 

Preparations:

  1. Cut the kernels off the corn cobs.
  2. Heat the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the corn kernels, red capsicum, onion and chili and stir to coat the vegetables in the butter.
  3. Cook covered over low heat, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes or until the vegetables are soft.
  4. Increase the heat to medium and add the  cilantro. Cook , stirring, for 30 seconds or until fragrant.
  5. Sprinkle with the flour and stir for a further minute.
  6. Remove from the heat and gradually add the vegetable stock, stirring together.
  7. Add the water and return to the heat.
  8. Bring to the boil, reduce the heat to low and simmered covered for 10-15 minutes or until.
  9. Cool slightly.
  10. Ladle about 2 cups of the soup into the blender and puree until smooth.
  11. Return the puree to the soup in the saucepan, pour in the cream and gently heat until warmed through.
  12. Poured the shredded mozzarella.
  13. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  14. Sprinkle with cilantro leaves to serve.
  15. Serve with grilled cheese or pitta bread.
                                                    

I’ve been writing this blog since the other day. And I finally finished it! I’ve been out doing some grocery shopping for the last 2 days. I’m trying to stock up on some essentials items that my family need! With the price of gas going up, I don’t need to go to the store more often than I should!

Have a great day everyone!

 

 

Leave a Reply

